Day Six – Boredom

I took no pain meds after 7:30 PM last night and slept pretty well. It really wouldn’t be hard to get addicted to it, because you sleep like a baby when you’ve taken a couple of these. But, I’ve been sufficiently warned about the real possibility of staying on the pain medication too long, and then having to deal with another problem (addiction). So, from now on, I’ll try to limit my use of the Percocet (substituted with Oxycodon) to when I’m really hurting, and that might not be until I begin the therapy, which begins after about six weeks after the surgery.

The only real problem I can foresee at this point is boredom. When you are used to being active and then, overnight, you are forced into inactivity, it can be hard. Since I’m right handed, and my surgery was on my right shoulder, there is not a lot I can do. That’s one reason why I decided to have this blog. Not only will it provide helpful information (which your doctor probably isn’t going to tell you) to those contemplating this surgery, but it will also provide something for this recovering patient to do. Today for the first time, I’m actually typing with both hands – and that’s progress!

So, my advice to those of you who are going to go through with your surgery is:

  1. Get some good books that you’ve always wanted to read, but didn’t have the time.
  2. Get some exercise by way of taking walks, maybe even a couple a day (you’ll have the time).
  3. Plan on experiencing boredom and try to think of ways ahead of time to alleviate it.
  4. Remember the construction sign: “Temporary inconvenience – Permanent improvement.”
  5. Be patient while your body heals itself. If you try to hurry the process and re-injure yourself, you’ll be very sorry.
This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day Six – Boredom

  1. Pattie says:

    Very good advice.

Leave a Reply

