Adjusting to the situation

Last night I was having a hard time getting to sleep, probably because I’m trying to wean myself off of the pain meds at night. I tried to fight it by changing from my recliner to the couch and back to the recliner, but to no avail. Finally at around 12:30am, I gave up trying to get to sleep, turned on my light, and picked up a book I’ve been reading (The Spiritual Secrets of Hudson Taylor).

At around 1:20, I was enjoying my book and wasn’t a bit sleepy. The next thing I know, I hear a door open and footsteps coming down the hallway. My wife came into the living room and told me she couldn’t sleep either. I was happy to have some company!

So, we popped a bag of popcorn, and watched a documentary on the American railroad system which we picked up the other day, and made the best of the situation. At around 2:45, we both went back to bed, and this time – we were able to get to sleep!

We can’t always change our circumstances, but we can determine how we react to them. By God’s grace, we can make the best of the events in our lives. Now, I’m not saying that I always do well in these situations, but this time I feel like I’m at least learning.

Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. – Phillipians 4:11-13

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adjusting to the situation

  1. Pattie says:

    A memorable night for sure.

  2. Anita says:

    What a sweet story ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

