A pleasant surprise – Weight loss!

It has been 3 weeks since my surgery and things are much better. I am back to sleeping in my bed and am taking only ibuprofen for pain as needed.

The day after my surgery I was shocked to see that my weight had spiked 5 lbs. As I looked at the scale, I wondered how I was going to manage my weight now that I couldn’t engage in all the calorie burning activities I was used to enjoying. I thought that it was going to be a real battle to keep the pounds off, since I would have such a sedentary life for the next few months.

Well, since that day, I have not only lost the initial weight that I put on after surgery, but I’ve actually lost even more weight. I was going to blog this sooner, but I thought that I had better wait, because it could just be a fluke.

The only explanation that I can imagine is that my right shoulder and arm have shrunk due to atrophy. My right arm is about 2/3 rds of what it used to be, and so that might explain the consistent weight loss I’ve experienced.

At any rate, those of you who are considering this surgery and are wondering how much weight you’ll gain because you can’t exercise sufficiently, maybe this will be an encouragement to you. I have to admit that I’m pretty happy about it. 🙂


Note: I posted this 3 weeks after my surgery. Five months later (I was in therapy for 5 months, due to my frozen shoulder), I had put on 12 lbs, and I wasn’t happy about that! But, when you can’t do all the things that kept you trim, you’ll likely put on a few pounds. The good news is, that I am back to the weight I was at before surgery. It was a whole lot easier to put the weight on, than to get it off.

This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A pleasant surprise – Weight loss!

  1. kelly says:

    Wow!! That is great. Glad that the recovery is going smoothly.

  2. tfranc says:

    Thanks, Kelly. 🙂

  3. Anita says:

    Glad to hear the great news, Tom. While I could stand to lose a few pounds, I think I’ll elect to do it the old-fashioned way. Welcome back to your bed! 🙂

  4. tfranc says:

    Thanks, Neen. The recliner was a blessing when I needed to sleep sitting up, but the bed is way better!

    Are you sure you don’t want to try the new “Rotator Cuff Surgery Weight Loss” program?. It’s all the rage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

