Week 4 update

It’s been 4 weeks since the day of my surgery. I’m sleeping well at night now, but of course I don’t sleep on my right side. I still have pain when I bump my arm, do a movement that I’m not supposed to do, and when taking long walks. The pain though is definitely subsiding, and I seldom take anything more than ibuprofen for it. Sometimes in fact, my left shoulder hurts more than my right one (which is the one that was operated on). I’ve already been told that my left shoulder has a rotator cuff injury, so that one may be next if this procedure provides the results I’m hoping for.

Next week at this time, I will begin my physical therapy. Each session will last an hour and a half. I am looking forward to it, and am very motivated to get started. I’ve already heard a lot of horror stories about how painful therapy is, but I believe that if everybody else lived through it, so will I. I’m looking forward to driving again (they have not yet told me when that will be) and little by little working my way back into normal use of my right arm and shoulder.

One thing that I’ve already resolved to do is to NOT tell anybody horror stories about my experience. The therapy may be rough, but I’m going to try my best to not SCARE others by what I experience. It just isn’t necessary or kind. I realize that a lot of people were just trying to be humorous, but whether they realize it or not, it can have a negative effect on those people, like me, who are still looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 4 update

  1. kelly says:

    Great Decision, dad!! Very wise. Glad that the recovery is still going well. I will pray they therapy will go smoother than you have been told. πŸ™‚

  2. Nancy says:

    Hi Tom!! Will continue praying for your recovery and also that your physical therapy will go much better than many you have heard about. Will pray you get a therapist that will use just the right amount of aggressiveness for you. You have a great attitude!! =)

  3. Debby says:

    I am 4 weeks post-op too. My cuff was initially deemed irreperable, but when he got in there to see what he could clean up to relieve my pain, he did a custom repair job. I am so thankful! My recovery is not bad, I do my passive ROM exercises daily. Mine is also my right arm, and my left arm is more painful than my right. I had total knee replacement on my left knee a month and a half before my shoulder, so that has been a little challenging. All in all, I don’t have much pain in my shoulder and I may not even be sent to therapy. I just can’t wait to drive…..that is the worst part of it all so far. Good luck to you.

    • tfranc says:

      Wow, you’re a trooper! Just getting over knee replacement, and then you get shoulder surgery? I’m really glad to hear your good report on your recovery. It’s great that the doctor, upon going in to do his work, found less damage than expected. That’s what I’ve been hearing about the MRI’s; that they often don’t tell the whole story.

      Thanks for you comment. I’m sure it will be an encouragement to many people – including me!

Leave a Reply

