Week 5 – First therapy session

Today, I had my first PT (physical therapy) appointment. I guess I’ll just say that I was a little surprised at how painful it was. The therapist started the range of motion exercises, where he moved my arm and shoulder, and before I knew it, I was writhing in pain and squirming all over the the table. Within minutes, I was perspiring profusely.

The therapist was surprised that I was having such a hard time with the pain. He told me that it would probably be a good idea to take a pain pill an hour before I come in for therapy the next time. I told him that he could probably make more money being a CIA interrogator.

After the initial “workout,” he used some special equipment to massage the shoulder area. One device was some kind of laser, and I believe the second device used heat. He applied some lubricant to the area when he did the heat treatment, which actually felt good (thankfully…).

He then put a heat pad on my shoulder and let that sit there for about 10 minutes ,while he left the room. This too felt pretty good. But then, it was time to go back over to the “rack” for the final session of torture – I mean therapy. Wow, and I said I was going to try not scare anybody!

This time, my muscles and joints seemed more prepared for it, and it didn’t seem as painful. He also engaged my mind with a discussion of tennis. That was effective, because it took my mind off of the torturous movements he was performing.

I told Jason that I thought that the heat must have loosened things up. At that, he said that it was his “magic fingers” and not the heat treatment. I told him that it must take a special person to do his job. He said that a good therapist has to have a balance between having empathy for his victim – I mean patient, and also being somewhat aggressive. He said that if he was too kindhearted, he couldn’t do his patients any good.

My therapist is actually very good and knowledgeable. I’m grateful to have such a competent professional helping me out. I was originally supposed to have an appointment with a female therapist. I joked with my wife before she drove me to my appointment that I needed a shirt pressed, so I’d look good for my appointment with “Melissa.” The joke was on me! Jason was not the therapist I had imagined – but he was the one I needed. 🙂

So, as I expected, I “survived” my first therapy session. I will now start going in 3 times a week for 3 to 4 months of this. Well, that’s all for now – I need to go take a pain pill!

Note: Jason had a post operative report from the surgeon today. He informed me that my tear was actually 3 cm (1.25″). He also told me that the surgeon found a ruptured bicep muscle. It was one of the two bicep muscles that split off from the main one that goes up into the shoulder. He said that that muscle often is damaged because of the rotator cuff muscle being weakened. It puts more stress on the bicep muscle. These are things that the surgeon didn’t tell me.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 5 – First therapy session

  1. Pattie says:

    Jason! —– You told me your therapist’s name was Melissssaww, AND you said that name “Melisssaww” with a mischievous smile on your face. /: I think you were trying to make me jealous.

  2. kelly says:

    Well, although I am sorry your first session was so painful, I have to say that this has got to be the most entertaining blog post yet!!! And, the comments are great too!!!

    • Tom says:

      Thanks, Kelly. I’m finally going to be a “longsuffering” Christian (Gal. 5:22). Three to four months is a pretty long time, don’t you think?

  3. Anita says:

    Tom, I’m so sorry you had to bear so much pain! But it’s good to see that you still have your sense of humor and a great attitude. We’ll be praying that the subsequent therapy visits will be less painful.

  4. Keep working, nice post! This was the information I had to know.

Leave a Reply

