What I’m thankful for today

I just returned from my session with my CIA interrogator. After the pain and suffering, I returned home to my recliner and my laptop. I also took a pain pill, which I should have taken BEFORE my therapy appointment. I keep thinking that I can take it (the pain); that it won’t be THAT bad this time.

Anyway… I now have this time to reflect on things, and I really think it’s good to think about what I am thankful for, and so here goes.

I am thankful for my wife. She has been so helpful to me and patient. She has driven me all over the place, so that I can have some different scenery (today we went to the mall). It really helps to break up my day, and I greatly appreciate her doing that for me.

I am thankful for the opportunity to do all the reading and research that I’m doing. Ordinarily, I would feel guilty about sitting around reading, when I have so many projects that need to be done (or, I think they need to be done). As my wife told me early on in this, “It’s not so bad BEING FORCED TO RELAX, is it?” I guess I’m thankful for being forced to relax, because that’s about the only way that I’ll do it. I have a hard time relaxing, unless I’m sick or have a broken bone, etc.

I’m thankful for pain medication. It is a mercy that there is something to relieve pain. I would be in some serious pain right now, but for the marvelous pain meds that I have.

That’s one reason why Heaven is going to be so glorious – NO PAIN (Rev. 21:4). It’s amazing to me how HAPPY I can be when I’m not in any pain. When I take my pain pills, I get a little reprieve from the pain, and it is SO wonderful.

I’m thankful for the wonderful books and Spurgeon sermons that I’ve been devouring now that I’m “forced to relax.” How blessed I am to have these to help me pass the time – and do it profitably.

And last but not least, I’m thankful for being forced to suffer. I know that sounds weird, but there is value in being forced to suffer. The value of it is that it makes you grateful that you haven’t had to do more of it, because you’ve had good health most of your life. A friend at church said that it’s like hitting yourself in the head with a hammer. It feels so good when you stop doing it.

We take a lot of things for granted, until we have to suffer a little bit. Then we give thanks to God for all those years of good health and no real suffering.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. – 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes. – Ps 119:71

Thanks for listening! I know that I’ve mentioned some of these things before in other posts. I’m happy though to be in a thankful mood right now!

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

