“Jasoning”

Last night I was thinking of my therapy appointment in the morning with Jason. I was also thinking of this verse from the Bible:

“Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.” – Hebrews 12:11

Now, if I change a couple of words in that verse, it becomes very appros for my therapy sessions. Here is the way I’ve changed it to describe what I go through in therapy:

“Now no Jasoning for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of rehabilitation unto them which are exercised thereby.” – Tomstherapy 12:11

The verse is actually talking about how our Heavenly Father “exercises” discipline upon His children for their growth and benefit. God’s “chastening” is a painful process whereby He purifies His saints through various, sometimes painful, experiences. The purpose of the chastisement is for our improvement, even though it is not fun. The Bible tells us that ALL  of God’s children, at one time or another, are chastised by God. God disciplines His children – nobody is exempted from it. In fact, the Bible tells us that if you are without this discipline, you are not a true Christian (Heb. 12:8).

Now, back to my analogy with therapy. When I go to my therapy sessions, I’m being “Jasoned.” It is not a joyous experience. Today, I actually took one of my pain pills before I went. I thought that it would help. Maybe it did, but it didn’t seem like it. Or, maybe Jason ratcheted up my range of motion exercises to a higher level, I don’t know. The point is, it was grievous to me. I writhed in pain, but Jason kept up the “exercises.”

Notice the similarities in the words: “chastening” and “Jasoning”.

Jason knows what he has to do to get me where I need to be. He will not let up just because I’m squirming all over his therapy table. He told me that some of his patients are very “loose” and don’t require the same amount of “exercising”(“Jasoning”) that I do. He often tells me to quit “resisting” him. He says that I’m “fighting” what he’s trying to do. He says, “just let go, and let me move your arm.” He says that the more I resist, the longer it’s going to take.

Similarly, God is going to “chasten” His “patients” to get us where we need to be. We can groan and squirm all we want, but God desires our sanctification, and He will get us there. All of God’s children don’t respond the same to the exercises. Some require more “therapy” than others. Some are better “patients” than others, but God knows what He needs to do, and He will do it, whether we “let” Him or not. In fact, the more we resist Him, the longer the process will take.

The end result with Jason, will be the full and complete use of my shoulder and arm. He will continue to “exercise” me until I get to that point. It will ultimately lead to my rehabilitation from surgery.

In the same manner, God is going to “chasten” me, for the rest of my life, because until I achieve perfection (which won’t happen in this life), I’m going to need it.

By the way, the word for “exercise” in the Greek is the word from which we get our word “gymnasium.” So when we are being “chastened” by our Lord, we can say that we’ve been in God’s gymnasium. Have you been in God’s gymnasium lately?

So, to wrap up all of this, Jason is going to “Jason” me (work my muscles and joints), and God is going to “chasten” me (discipline me), and both of these things can be painful, but both of them are for my good.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Jasoning”

  1. Pattie says:

    Great comparison and play on words.

Leave a Reply

