Sling comes off!

Today I had my six week appointment with my surgeon, and today he gave the green light on removing my sling. He even approved driving, but told me to use my own discretion as to when I felt that I could do so safely. He said to give it a day or so, after things loosen up a bit with the sling removed, and then to little by little start using it.

He cautioned me to not go out and start playing tennis again or do other strenuous activities. He told me to inform my therapist that the sling has been removed, and now he can begin to start me on AROM (Active Range Of Motion) exercises, that I actually do without his assistance.

I also had a PT appointment this morning. It has been recommended that I use the pain medication while I’m in therapy, because not doing so would slow the rate at which Jason can progress in the movements. Without the pain meds, the pain is more intense and thus limits what can be done. Today, I took the maximum dosage before the appointment, and Jason told me that he felt that I handled the pain much better. It still hurt a lot, but not near as bad as without any pain medication. So, that will be SOP from now on.

So, today I’m pretty happy, because I will now be able to drive and begin doing things which were before prohibited, which will be just wonderful! 🙂

This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sling comes off!

  1. kelly says:

    Glad to hear the good report! I am sure you enjoy your freedom to jump in the car and go.
    Nate

  2. Tom says:

    Thanks a lot Nate. Yes, I’m very excited about having my wheels again. I feel liberated! 🙂

  3. Pattie says:

    Wow, I am glad that you will be able to drive. PTL!

  4. Anita says:

    You’ve come a long way, Tom, in just six weeks (it probably seems much longer to you). Great news!

Leave a Reply

