Non-passive exercises begin today

Since I am now “out of the sling,” my therapist has graduated me to a new series of exercises. Today, which was my fifth appointment, I began a whole new exercise regimen, and with these I’ve been instructed to do them on the days that I don’t go in for my PT appointments.

Jason started me out with the usual heat pad on the shoulder, and then it was over to the “rack” for his passive range of motion exercises. He even came up with some new ones today that hurt even more than the others. He told me today that there is an extra $5 charge for “whiners.” I told him that he should be getting bigger checks in the future.

Each time I go to my therapy sessions, I look around a lot at the other folks going through their exercises. I guess I must be a real softie, because I don’t see anybody writhing in pain like I do. But then, I don’t think I’ve seen the  ones that have had RCuff surgery. There are a lot of knee surgery and hip surgery folks, but I haven’t seen others come in with a sling on and get the workouts that I receive  From what I’ve seen, RC surgery has to be one of the most painful in regard to physical therapy.

Today, I was late in taking my pain pill before going in for my appointment, and so I didn’t get much benefit from it while I was being worked on. After I got home, it hit me, and I had a nice rest in my recliner.

It was kind of like going to the dentist to get a tooth filled. They give you a shot of Novocaine to numb the tooth, and then before the shot has had time to begin its numbing effect, the dentist begins drilling. But, after you leave his office, your tooth gets nice and numb.

Oh well, I am making progress, and I am beginning to understand what people told me about rotator cuff surgery. My hat is off to my brother-in-law who has had it done to both shoulders. You are one tough guy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non-passive exercises begin today

  1. Nancy says:

    Hahaha…I will pass on your “tough guy” comment to Dean but clearly you had a much more injured shoulder than either of his!!! He said so himself! And he had his taken care of shortly after he started having pain whereas you waited….YEARS!!! So don’t be hard on yourself Tom. I wince just READING about the pain your CIA interrogator puts you through!! Praying for your continued good progress though and complete healing…and for Jason!!! (I’m sure “Melissa” would not have been so tough on you!! =)

    Enjoying your blog…Love you!!

  2. Tom says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Nancy. I’ll be going in for my workout in about an hour. I’m not sure if we’re doing “waterboarding” today, or if that’s on Friday, but it should be fun! Oh, and, yes, definitely pray for Jason, he needs your prayers too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

