Near to the “crushed in spirit”

“The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” – Psalm 34:18

Today, while I was being prepped for my therapy with a warm wrap on my shoulder along with the Anodyne treatment, I noticed a new face in our therapy center. I could see that she was an RC patient by the way her shoulder was wrapped up like mine, so I began talking with her about how it was going since her surgery. She had a look on her face like a one of the bird’s that crash into our large sliding glass door from time to time. She looked scared and fearful.

She began telling me that she has a low threshold for pain and that the day she was released from surgery, she had to return to the emergency room that evening to get THREE shots for pain. She had such a “wounded bird” look on her face that drew my sympathy. I tried to console and encourage her, but I don’t think it helped much. She was afraid of what she was going to be put through in her therapy. It was kind of noisy and busy in there today, and I believe that too could have been giving her some stress.

Later, while I was pedaling my “arm bike,” I looked over at her and noticed that she was watching me with a very worried look on her face. A short time after that, I heard the therapists talking, and it appeared that the woman left without going through her therapy.

I do a lot of “people watching” while I’m in my therapy sessions (I’m in there most of the time for 2.5 – 3 hrs.), and I have to say that my heart goes out to those who are obviously having a hard time suffering their way through their recovery. It is those people that I am inclined to pray for and to try to encourage. It is the ones who admit their weakness and show their frailty that I’m drawn to.

I think that’s how it works with our Heavenly Father also. If he sees that we are “tough” and we can handle everything ourselves, then He is not drawn to help us. Paul said that it was when he was “weak” that he was “strong (2 Cor. 12:10).” In the passage I have quoted above, it says that God is near to those who are brokenhearted and crushed in spirit.

I don’t even know that woman’s name, but I will be praying for her tonight.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

