Turning the corner (maybe) – Week 11 update

This week I believe that I may be turning the corner as far as progress with my physical therapy. Not only have I cut back on my use of the pain medication, but my pain level during the PROM (Jason) exercises has decreased. It is not near as torturous.

Last week Jason scolded me for not pushing the pain envelope when I do my AROM exercises at home. So, I ratcheted up the level of pain I was subjecting myself to, and I believe it may have helped my progress.

Jason also told me last week that I should drop down to 1 pain pill instead of 2 before I come in for therapy. I did that and I can’t tell any difference, except that I am more alert.

Today I asked Jason if I was 50% of the way in my therapy. To my surprise, he said that we may be that far. That alone was a huge encouragement.

I also asked him how long before I could be without pain. He said that I could expect to be in pain for 4 to 6 months from the date of my surgery.

Following my therapy appointment, I had an appointment with my surgeon today. He basically said to keep doing what I am presently doing. Nothing new, just “keep on, keepin on.”

Finally, I am leaving tomorrow to go out of town for 2 weeks to visit family in upstate New York. I will continue to do the AROM exercises every day while I’m there. I asked the therapist whether this would set me back, and he said that it would NOT. So, it will be a break from Jason’s PROM therapy which is the roughest part. I am hoping that I’ll feel well enough to really enjoy myself and get my mind off of the therapy sessions for a little while.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turning the corner (maybe) – Week 11 update

  1. Pattie says:

    Great news on all fronts. I have no doubt that you will be just as disciplined on our vacation as you are at home. It will be nice to get a break from the therapy as well. Looking forward to being in the mountains and on the lake for our vacation. LOYL 🙂

  2. Nancy says:

    That sounds great Tom!!! We’ve been praying for you today concerning your traveling and your shoulder. Hoping and praying you have a wonderful time with Kelly, Nate and the kids and I’m sure like Pattie that you’ll be just as disciplined knowing you only want to continue to go forward!! Hope you enjoy your little vacation away from Jason as well!! =)

    Our love to you all and have a blessed Thanksgiving!!!

    • Tom says:

      Thanks a lot, Nancy. We are having a very nice time here in NY. Pattie and I just took a walk and, it’s in the 30’s or 20’s. Yikes! I forgot what cold was like. 🙂

      You have a very blessed Thanksgiving too!

  3. Patricia J Cooper (personal) says:

    Hi Tom,
    I had arthroscopic rotator cuff repair yesterday. Had I read your blog before the surgery, I may not have undergone the surgery. Yet, I feel encouraged! I believe that I had been grossly unrealistic about my recovery; however, I now have a greater perspective. god is awesome and He will not give us more than we can bear.

    • Tom says:

      Hi Patricia,

      God will certainly see you through your recovery. It is a long tough road, but you will receive sufficient strength for your need. You may even find that you grow spiritually because of the trial (I believe that I have).

      May our Lord bless you as you begin your recovery. I’ll pray for you as the Lord brings you to my remembrance. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

