Restart after a 2 week breather

I returned to therapy today after a 2 week vacation in upstate New York. It was a nice getaway visiting my daughter’s family on a lake with the Adirondack mountains in the background. We enjoyed having Thanksgiving with them and had just a wonderful time. It was a very nice break.

Yesterday, I had a lot of “therapy” loading and unloading our luggage into overhead storage compartments on the plane, as we made our way home. I went to bed last night with my ice pack, because I was in a lot of pain. At 3 am, I moved out to the recliner in the living room, because I had to ice my shoulder again.

But, today it was back to the therapy sessions. In my last post, I mentioned that I thought I had turned a corner and that maybe things were going to get easier. I also inserted the word “Maybe” into the title of the post. The reason why I did that was because I couldn’t be sure of what I was fantasizing about, and it was indeed a fantasy.

Jason (my therapist) started out the session by having me do several range of motion exercises to see where I was in my progress. I had been faithful while on vacation to do my exercises almost every day, so that I would not regress with my treatment. I would have to say that today was one of the most painful days of therapy (and I thought I was getting used to being in pain). Jason really worked me over, and then he added several new exercises to the regimen.

I came home from my therapy totally exhausted. I had some lunch, and then pulled my ice pack out of the freezer, sat down in my recliner and basically passed out for an hour and a half. After my  nap, I was still a basket case until after supper, at which time I took another pain pill which helped a lot. A little bit later, my wife and I took a walk, which was a huge blessing, as I enjoyed some hot chocolate from Barnes and Nobles, along with the fresh, brisk air.

I expect to have another rough night tonight. I am definitely making progress in my therapy, but I still have a long way to go. As I’ve said many times in this blog, recovery from rotator cuff surgery is a long, painful road. I hope that someday, I will be able to say that it was indeed worth it all, but I’m not there yet.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Restart after a 2 week breather

  1. Kelly says:

    Keep up the good work, Dad. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be in pain for such a long time. I certainly hope it will all be worth it in the end!!

Leave a Reply

