“Home Entertainment Center” for Rotator Cuff recovery

all equipment

floor equipment

pulleys and bands

Click on pictures to enlarge

Here are a few of the pieces of equipment which are used when doing your therapy at the house. Every day that you are not attending your therapy center, you are to do your exercises at home. You could call this your “Home Entertainment Center.” 🙂

In the top photo I have assembled all of the equipment which I use each time I do my exercises. In this photo there are the following items.

  • Resistance bands of various types and levels of difficulty
  • Door mounted pulleys
  • Exercise ball
  • 6″x 36″ foam roller
  • Wand (on floor)
  • Yoga mat
  • Towels (to go under arm and back)
  • Chair (for pulley exercises)
  • Timer
  • Pillow for head
  • Clipboard with checkoff list
  • 2 lb. dumbbell (not pictured)

In the next two photos, I have grouped together the equipment I use when laying on the yoga mat, and then in the bottom photo I have the setup for using the pulleys.

So far, this is all the equipment I have needed for home therapy. Of course, there is much more equipment which I use at the therapy center which is not pictured here.

Not pictured here also are the necessary intangibles of determination and the desire to stick with it, even though it’s a painful process. For these, I have prayed to God. And, by His grace, He has given me the will to persevere, although not always abounding in joy throughout the ordeal.

So far, I have attended 24 sessions of therapy, which equates to 2 months. When I began, Jason told me that I could count on 3-4 months of therapy. On Monday, I questioned him as to how much longer I had to go. He told me that he could not envision me being finished by the first of the year. So, it looks at this point that I’ll be finished closer to the 4 month estimate.

Jason told me early on that some people are “loose” and some are “tight,” and that I was in the tighter group. As a result, it’s going to take longer for me, it appears. Because we’re all different, you just have to stay with it until you have achieved a normal range of motion, or as close as you can get to it.

Note: Therapy at the center is 3 days a week (for 2.5 – 3 hrs). Therapy at the house is 3 days a week. I take Sundays off.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Home Entertainment Center” for Rotator Cuff recovery

  1. Meimi says:

    Thank you for this post. I will have surgery soon & will gather my home entertainment center today . Every bit of info helps

Leave a Reply

