Week 15 progress report (3.5 months)

This week I had another appointment with my surgeon. At this time, he lowered the potency of my pain medication from Percocet (oxycodone) to Vicadin (hydrocodone). I have already noticed that the new medicine does not work as well. Unfortunately, this is necessary to keep me from becoming addicted to the stronger narcotic.

The doctor spent 4 minutes with me. He checked to see how high I could raise my arm, and told me not to be too concerned about that yet, because it can take 9 to 12 months for full recovery.

Meanwhile, Jason seems to be concerned that I am not able to raise my arm higher than I can at this point. He said that it’s really important to get that range of motion very soon, or I would have to be put under and have it done that way. He told me that I don’t want that. He did not elaborate on why, but my guess is that you are going to be in a lot of pain if the surgeon has to perform that procedure on you.

All I can do at this point is to really force myself to endure the pain which is necessary to get that movement back. The bad part is that now they are lowering my pain medication when I may need it more than ever. I have worked hard to ensure a good recovery, but so far I am not progressing as I (or Jason) had hoped. I am going to have to pray more.

This entry was posted in Medical, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

