Pain pill update

Well, I survived my first time back at therapy for a week yesterday with Jason, WITHOUT taking any pain pills. That is very good news. I quit them “cold turkey” as they say, and although it was not fun, I have made it and every day is better. On Saturday, it will be a week.

At this point, I don’t believe I will need them anymore. Most everything has gotten normal, except that I can’t remember the last time I got a good night’s sleep. I toss and turn all night, because as soon as I fall asleep, I get awakened by the pain – and it’s hard to get to sleep in the first place. I have been “using” Ibuprofen for pain.

This afternoon I had an opportunity to take a nap, and as soon as I got to sleep my cell phone rang. After the short call, I was able to get back to sleep, but then the phone rang again and after that I gave up. I so wanted to get some sleep and I almost did.

The constipation from the pills was so bad that I found myself praying that my digestive system would begin to function again. Who would ever think of praying for that? And when the answer came, I rejoiced with joy unspeakable!

God is going to make me a more compassionate person through all this. I will definitely be able to identify with those who are sick or who have had some kind of surgery. You really don’t think much about any of this when you have good health all the time.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” – 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

This entry was posted in Medical, Pain medication, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

