Pain pills – I may still need them…

I wrote yesterday that I thought I would have no need to use the pain meds any longer. I may have spoken too soon. Since coming off them, I’m averaging around 3-4 hrs. of sleep. Last night, I tossed and turned until around 3 AM because of persistent pain. I tried ibuprofen, I got up around 1 AM and iced my shoulder for about an hour, but to no avail.

I finally decided that I may not be ready to quit using the pain meds, since I still have pain which won’t allow me to get a decent night’s sleep. So at 3 AM, I took one pain pill and in about a half an hour my pain subsided, and I was able to get a couple of hours of sleep before going in for my therapy.

I was really thinking I could just stop taking the pain meds because my pain was very mild. But, I hadn’t done any therapy for a week, and that was the reason why I thought I could just quit taking them. Now that I’m going in to Jason 3 days a week, and now that I’m supposed to be doing the really painful exercises on the days I don’t go into Jason, I believe I’m going to need them to get to sleep at night. But, if that’s the only time I take them, I believe it will be OK.

I have fought the good fight, I have kept the faith, I have quit taking pain medication for a whole week, but now that I’m back into the therapy, I believe I’m going to need them if I ever want to get some sleep at night, because the ice and ibuprofen don’t cut the pain (for me anyway – we’re all different).

This entry was posted in Medical, Pain medication, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

