Week 16 in therapy update

It will be 5 months on the 30th of this month since my surgery, and this week will wrap up my 4th month in therapy. I will have my next appointment with my surgeon on the 6th of February.

I am using my JAS EZ Shoulder system device to stretch my shoulder 3 times a day and going to therapy 3 times a week. At this point, I believe I’m making some progress, but I’m definitely not where I would be if I didn’t have the frozen shoulder problem. My guess is that when I go in for my surgeon appointment, it will be similar to last month. He will tell me my two options – be satisfied the way it is, or do the MUA. I’m hoping though, that he might say that I have made some progress, and that with further therapy, my range of motion will come back.

I believe my therapist has tried every trick in his bag at this point. There is nothing more to try. I still don’t have satisfactory range of motion, and I still have pain during the therapy and at night.

One point that my surgeon has stressed repeatedly is this, “there are NO guarantees.” Unlike getting your car repaired, if you take your car into the shop for a brake job, it is assumed the brakes will work satisfactorily when the mechanic has done his work. It is also assumed that, if that is not the case, you don’t have to keep paying him again and again until he gets it right. When it comes to medical procedures, there are NO guarantees.

All of this aside, I’m still hopeful for a full recovery. It just may take a little longer.

This entry was posted in frozen shoulder, JAZ EZ Shoulder System, Medical, pain, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

