Nearing the end – of formal therapy?

My therapist told me today that my last scheduled appointment will be March the 4th. My next appointment with my surgeon is March 6th. It looks like Jason (my therapist) may recommend that I continue to use my JAS EZ Shoulder system and do other strengthening exercises at home. And so, my formal PT may be coming to an end, as of March the 4th, if my doctor agrees to it.

Since my surgeon gave me the green light to start hitting some tennis balls (two weeks ago), I’ve been out 5 times. I do have pain because of the tennis, but I’ve been told by Jason and my doctor that that is to be expected until my shoulder heals completely. Jason told me today that I will probably not be back to normal until I approach the one year mark, which for me will be September. He told me that I have made substantial improvement in the last month, and most of what I’m doing with him at the therapy center, I can do at home. He does very little stretching of me now.

The good news is that I can do most of the things that I need to be doing at this point. I can play “rally” tennis (where you don’t serve or keep score – you just hit), maintain my bee hives (I’m a beekeeper), do woodwork, and most household chores. As spring approaches, I’ll be catching honey bee swarms, and doing bee removals too.

I am still using pain medication to sleep at night, but only then. It will be 6 months since my surgery at the end of this month. I may be coming up the home stretch, as far as my formal therapy is concerned – that would be WONDERFUL!

This entry was posted in Pain medication, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nearing the end – of formal therapy?

  1. Brenda says:

    Congratulations! I know you are enjoying getting back to a more normal lifestyle.

    I am 7 weeks out and progressing well. This is due in large part to your blog and the information you’ve shared. I am a much better patient than I would have been had you not been so honest.

    My therapist told me for a normal rotator cuff surgery, you can count on one year before you raise your arm without pain. Each extra thing they do, such as removing the bursa or cleaning out arthritis, adds a few more weeks.

    Keep up the good work, and have fun!

  2. Tom says:

    It’s good to hear from you, Brenda! I’m so glad that you are progressing well, and that my blog was helpful to you.

    I believe your therapist is right about the pain. I had thought that by this time I would be done with pain, but no so. I take Ibuprofen, Aleve, and aspirin during the day, and the prescription pain medication at night. I’m almost halfway there (6 months).

    Take care and keep me informed on your progress. 🙂

  3. Nancy says:

    So glad to hear you are coming in the home-stretch Tom!! That is wonderful news. Maybe those 5 times out on the tennis court was what your shoulder needed to get the final nudge!!!=) Congratulations!!!!!!

    • Tom says:

      Thanks, Nancy. After this post, I hope they actually release me. Jason said that if I didn’t have the JAS device, he would not consider releasing me. That device has made the difference in my range of motion progress, and I have Jason to thank for making that recommendation to my surgeon. My surgeon was just wanting to go ahead with the manipulation procedure.

      I’ll still have work to do at home, but I may not have to go in for the formal therapy sessions (right now, I have both). I have 4 more sessions, and then my appointment with my surgeon. He will make the ultimate decision as to whether I’m done at the therapy center.

      Thanks a lot, Nancy, for being a faithful cheerleader for me. 🙂

  4. Anita says:

    We are all waiting for you at the finish line. Go, Tom!!!

Leave a Reply

