My plan worked out

“A man’s heart plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps.” – Proverbs 16:9

I scheduled my surgery for August 30th (of 2012), so that when honey bee swarm season started (in March of 2013), I would be able to do what I needed to do. Sometimes, when we make our plans, they don’t work out the way we wanted. In my case, although I have some “technical difficulties” (i.e. frozen shoulder), I am well enough to catch the swarms of honey bees that appear on trees (mostly) this time of year.

Today, I caught my second  and third swarm (I caught one on Saturday also) of 2013. On the first one this morning, the bees were up in the tree about 30′. To catch them, I had to climb a ladder to about 6′ (only because my pole/bucket could not reach the bees), and then extend a bucket on a pole up to where the bees were. When I reach the bees, I have to thrust the bucket into the swarm of bees (many come raining down on me).

A couple of months ago, this would have been an impossible task for me. But, thanks to the good therapy, and God’s healing of my shoulder, I can get back into what I enjoy doing in the spring – catching hundreds of thousands of honey bees!

Below are a couple of pictures to give you an idea of what is involved. First, you see the bees on a tree branch. Then, loading them into a box (the second one today was an easy one with the bees only 6′ off the ground). And finally, the bees congregating on the front entrance of the hive box.

Today was an especially good day, in that I was able to catch TWO swarms in one day. They are now safely installed in the bee yard.

I give thanks to the Lord, for healing my shoulder enough that I can get back into my spring bee catching. (Click on the pictures to enlarge)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like this kind of “therapy” better! Thanks for looking. 🙂

This entry was posted in frozen shoulder, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

