8 Month Update – I’m getting like an old car!

It has been 8 months since my surgery. I am trying to keep up with my at-home therapy every other day. I have also been playing tennis twice a week.

My tennis is really taking a toll on me. After playing, I have a lot of pain and not just in my shoulder. Since returning to the courts, some of my other aches and pains have been brought to my remembrance.

Just before my surgery, I attempted to learn a two-handed backhand. In the process, I must have injured my left shoulder, because I ended up having a lot of pain in it. After surgery on my right shoulder, the pain in my left shoulder subsided because I wasn’t using it very much during my recovery.

Now that I have started to play tennis again,  and have attempted to use a two-handed backhand, my left shoulder reminded me that I have injured it. I had forgotten about it, and thought that maybe the 6 month rest had healed whatever was injured. No so. The pain is back. Before my surgery I had so much pain in my left shoulder that I had an MRI to see whether I had a torn rotator cuff in that shoulder also. The MRI did not reveal one, but my surgeon said that I still could have one that it didn’t show.

Along with my left shoulder pain, I also have pain in my right hip. I had forgotten about that too. But, now it’s back.

And then there is the pain in my right foot, which is because of a problem at the joint at the second toe. Surgery could fix this, and I may have this done in the fall.

And, did I mention that I have lower back pain since I tried to help a couple of guys move a piano? My wife cringed when she saw me doing it.

My body is becoming like an old car. Every time you turn around, something else is failing. I have to say that getting old (I hate even saying the word) is the most humbling thing I’ve ever experienced in life (and I’m not even old yet 🙂 ). I sure am glad that I will be getting a brand-new body someday soon.

In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.
– 1 Corinthians 15:52

 

This entry was posted in physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

