One Year Anniversary

It was a year ago today that I began my journey to repair my rotator cuff.

Last year, at  5:00 AM, I was preparing to go to the hospital to have arthroscopic surgery on my shoulder. I checked in at the hospital at 6:00 AM, and around 6:05, they called me into the room where I would be prepped for my surgery.

It was a long road to recovery with a lot of pain and suffering, but it was worth it. Today, one year later, I was pressure washing a house for 4 hours, and the only pain I had was in my left shoulder – not my right one that had the surgery.

Now my right shoulder is my good one, and my left shoulder is the bad one. So, it’s a good thing that I had my right shoulder repaired, or I would have two bad ones.

A year later, after having gone through an extended therapy regimen, I can hardly remember the torturous exercises I had to go through to get my shoulder strengthened again after the surgery and the atrophy which took place due to having my arm in a sling for 6 weeks.

It was a long journey, but I would have to say that it was definitely worth it. I can play tennis now without the pain, and I can even sleep on my right side again. All that my surgeon promised has come true. I have to admit that I was skeptical at times when my therapy was not going as it was supposed to.

I am very thankful for all the gifted people in the field of medicine who helped me to be healed. I’m thankful for those who provided encouragement to me, and for those who faithfully prayed for my complete recovery. Finally, I’m thankful to God Who gave me the strength and the drive to persevere with all that was necessary to get my shoulder working properly again.

This entry was posted in physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Year Anniversary

  1. Anita says:

    I love happy endings! I am praising God with you, Tom!

  2. Nancy says:

    Sorry this comes late Tom but Happy Arthroscopic Surgery Anniversary!! Fortunate how God sometimes allows our vivid memory of painful and unpleasant events in our life to diminish over time!!! Kind of like childbirth (you’ll have to take my word on THAT one!!) After a while you think, God got me through it once. He can get me through it again. Maybe that will be the same with you and your left shoulder!!:)

    Love you Tom!!

    • Tom says:

      Thank you, Nancy, for your words of encouragement. I got a shot in my left shoulder, and for now, it is a lot better. Without a doubt, I could have a lot worse problems than that! And, I am blessed in a multitude of other ways.

Leave a Reply

