Two years for complete recovery

August 30th, 2014 marked my two year anniversary for my rotator cuff surgery.

My surgeon, at one point, told me that it could take up to two full years for a complete recovery. “Complete” meaning, as good as it will ever get for me.

I would say that it did indeed take the two full years in my case. Aside from some occasional shooting pains, and from some more prolonged pain, when I have over-used it, my surgery has helped me tremendously.

I am very thankful for my surgeon and my therapist. Both of these gifted men worked together to accomplish the healing of my torn rotator cuff.

Now that my right shoulder has been repaired, I have to consider whether I’m ready or willing to have surgery on my left shoulder. So far, the steroid shots I get about every 3 months are working to keep the pain level tolerable. At some point, I may need to go through all this again, but for now the shots will be good enough.

Thanks for reading about my journey through rotator cuff surgery and the physical therapy that comes with it.

Tom in Myrtle Beach, SC.

This entry was posted in frozen shoulder, Medical, pain, pain level, Pain medication, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two years for complete recovery

  1. Nancy says:

    That’s a great update, Tom. We’re so glad your shoulder healed as well as it did…praise God!!:) I can sure understand your hesitancy regarding going through it all again for your left shoulder. You know quite well what you would be going through although I would imagine all shoulders are NOT create equal!!;)

    Love, Nancy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

