A Moment of Thankfulness

Recovery from rotator cuff surgery is a long and painful road. Today, I had my physical therapy appointment in the morning, and then my surgeon appointment in the afternoon.

I’ll go ahead and confess that during the course of my recovery, I am not always in a mood of thankfulness. So, when that special time is upon me, I try to post my blog reports.

This morning, I once again asked Jason to give me his assessment of my progress. I wanted to know how far along we are toward completion. He will always do an evaluation prior to my monthly doctor appointment, advising my surgeon of our progress.

But, today, Jason wanted me to do a self-evaluation first. After thinking for a minute, I guessed that we could be 60% of the way. I then told him that it wasn’t really important what I thought, but what he thought. He then told me that he believed we are at about the 50% mark.

Then, this afternoon, I had my surgeon appointment. The doc raised my arm in different positions, and then let go of it, telling me to see how high I could maintain that position. He made me jump during a couple of the motions.

After that, we talked about my use of the pain medication, and how I would eventually need to wean myself off of it. He explained that the body builds up tolerance to it, and that after a while, it doesn’t help as much.

My doctor is a humble, but exceptionally gifted man. I have the utmost respect for him. He is not condescending, but instead very personable and always cheerful. He would have been GREAT at whatever he decided to do with his life, but he chose medicine. We had a nice conversation today, and he advised me to “stay the course” with the therapy, reminding me that my last shoulder surgery recovery took longer than most.

This afternoon, I began to realize just how blessed I am to have him for my surgeon, and Jason for my therapist. I love them both. I feel so fortunate to have the kind of care that I’m getting. These men are so gifted and professional. They both really care about me, and are doing the best job they know how to get me fixed up and back in action.

Even the staff at my surgeon’s office is wonderful. They are all courteous, cheerful, and respectful. The same is true for the therapy center.

As I said earlier in this post, I am not always in the mood to be thankful, so I wanted to get this written down while I was “in the spirit” of thankfulness. God has really blessed me, and I am SO grateful for it.

Thank you, Lord, and thank you to all those who have prayed for me. 🙂

This entry was posted in Medical, pain, Pain medication, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Moment of Thankfulness

  1. Kelly says:

    That Is great to hear! Hopefully, the worst part of therapy is behind you now.

    • Tom says:

      Yes, Kelly, as long as I’m making progress (however small) and not freezing up, the worst is behind me. With my last shoulder surgery, I was making progress, and then it stopped (in January). As long as that doesn’t happen again, the worst is over. Thanks for your encouragement. 🙂

  2. ANITA WILSON says:

    Dear Tom,

    I appreciated your comments in your blog today. Your long-suffering during this period of rehabilitation has often been an inspiration and encouragement to me. At times when I find myself in pain or discomfort (light affliction), I am always reminded of the intense pain that you endure every day, and it puts things in perspective. I would imagine that others who read your blog have had a similar experience.

    Do you have any specific prayer requests that I can pray for, in addition to the obvious ones?

    Are you hoping to spend Christmas at home? All of the Baxter family will be in town for the holiday, and we are looking forward to being together. Our weather so far this month has been incredible, and I hope it continues to be for everyone’s safe travel.

    Good night, dear brother. ☺

    Love, Neen

Leave a Reply

