Good News!

Praise God, from whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
Praise Him above, ye heav’nly host;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost!

Today I met with my surgeon to review the results of the MRI I had on Monday. The MRI was ordered because I wasn’t making good progress in my therapy. The surgeon  suspected that it might have been damaged early on (right after surgery) by active range of motion exercises that the attending anesthesiologist had recommended to me while I was in recovery from surgery.

The doctor said that there was no indication of a re-tear. He said that it is likely taking longer to heal because of the unusual “L” shaped tear. He asked me whether I thought that the therapy was helping much at this stage. I told him that I am pretty much a self-guided patient and that the therapist is only spending about 10 minutes with me. He said that I could suspend the formal therapy and just work on the exercises at home, but he warned me not to do anything too crazy in my effort to recover. He said that I will still have some issues with pain, but that it should continue to diminish gradually.

I asked him whether the surgery was successful. He said “absolutely.” He told me that it may not function like a 20 year old’s would, but that he felt that I would have pretty much a full range of motion when it was completely healed. Complete healing can take as much as two years. I have felt that it took that long for my other shoulder to completely heal, and so I expect this one will be the same or longer because this one was a larger and unusual tear.

The good news is that I have NOT re-torn the tear! The surgeon told me that if it had re-torn, there would not have been much he could have done to fix it. That would have been a painful and depressing DISASTER with bad options or no options.

When I left his office, I was exceedingly glad! Pattie and I went out for a delicious breakfast at Waffle House to celebrate. I am very relieved to know that I did not ruin the surgery by following the bad advice from the now fired anesthesiologist.

Thank you for all of those who have been praying for my situation. For all I know, it may have been re-torn, but God fixed it because of all the prayers!

This entry was posted in Medical, MRI, physical therapy, Rotator Cuff Surgery, Thankfulness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good News!

  1. Anita says:

    Praise God!!! That is wonderful news, Tom, and absolutely an answer to many prayers. I am so happy for you!!

    • Tom says:

      Thank you, Neen. I know that you and Nancy have been lifting me up in prayer, and that has gotten me through it thus far. Please continue to pray though, because I have not crossed the finish line by any means. I still have a ways to go with my range of motion and strengthening.

  2. Kelly says:

    That Is terrific news! I was fearing the worst after reading the blog recently, & am very relieved that you received better news than we expected! Praise the Lord! We will really be able to celebrate when you come!

    • Tom says:

      Thank you, Kelly. Yes, it will certainly remove a cloud that has been hanging over my head. I’m really glad that I was able to get the MRI and the results BEFORE I came up to NY for our visit. I will be ready for a celebration!

Leave a Reply

